Vegan Flourless Creamy Mushroom Soup

I had a hankering for one of my pre-diet favorites: cream of mushroom soup. I decided to go straight vegan vs. raw because I’m wary of the environmental and microbial contaminations when it comes to fungi. It also turns out that the cooking process helps break down the fungi cell walls, thus releasing more nutrients into your food.

After some browsing, I decided to try Leanne Vogol’s variation, which uses starchy cauliflower as a thickening agent in place of flour. As I went along, I made some tweaks here and there. (My recipe is below).

The result was definitely what I expected – cream of mushroom soup. It was hearty and good with a nice creamy consistency. My only issue was mental: I couldn’t stop thinking about the cauliflower and almond milk that’s used in place of flour and cream. As a result, their opposing tastes stuck out for me and I ended up overcompensating with a clearly unhealthy amount of salt.

BusyGirlTip: The recipe calls for cauliflower florets, so I got all fancy and got one of those giant cauliflower heads instead of my usual pre-cut brand. It is really difficult to pry cauliflower out of that thing. Even when I managed to wedge out one piece, little cauliflower casualties came bursting out with it and flew across my kitchen. It didn’t help that I kept yelling at it: Come on you damn broccoli! I’m new to this healthy food thing. It’s hard to think under pressure.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups cauliflower florets
  • 1 and 2/3 cup of un-sweetenened original flavor almond milk
  • 1 and 1/2 cup of diced mushrooms (I used shittake and white)
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup of diced onion (your preference… onions make me gassy)
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Minced garlic clove
  • Sea salt and black pepper
IMG_7523
Mise en place

Steps

  1. Add milk and cauliflower to a small saucepan and heat slowly until it starts to boil. (Be careful, I let mine boil just a bit too long and it erupted dramatically like a 4th grade science project)
  2. Reduce heat and simmer at a low roll until cauliflower is tender (about 7-8 mins)
  3. While this is simmering, add olive oil to lightly coat the bottom of a medium saucepan or frying pan
  4. Add the mushrooms and onions, then season them with garlic clove, salt and pepper.
  5. Sautée mushroom mix on a medium to med-high heat until mushrooms darken and onions are translucent. (Note: add oil as needed to prevent burning)
  6. Once the cauliflower is tender, pour the contents of the saucepan into your blender.
  7. Puree until the mix is creamy and smooth throughout
  8. Now, add in the mushrooms and onions and puree as desired (depending on how chunky you like your mushrooms).
  9. If needed, add the final mix back into a saucepan and simmer with additional seasoning.

Seasoning Tips

Almond milk has a natural sweet taste and cauliflower is kind of woody and bitter, so you definitely will need to experiment with your spice rack. Like I said, I went a bit overboard on the garlic and salt. Next time, I might try something new – like bay leaf, thyme, onion powder or a dash of Tamari.

IMG_7524
Finished product

Overall Rating

  • Serves: 1
  • Ingredient Convenience: 5/5
  • Ease of Prep: 4/5
  • Complexity of Cooking: 3/5
  • Taste: 3/5
  • Good For: Vegan, Vegetarian, Healthy Carb Diets

 

 

 

One thought on “Vegan Flourless Creamy Mushroom Soup

Leave a Reply

